Box monster


imageI made this box monster for my kiddies and we have had great fun using him.

The idea is to lay out any type of picture, I have used phonic flashcards, and the child selects one and then says the letter sounds it starts with, or how to spell the word, or try to think of a rhyming word etc. There are so many uses for this little monster. Once they have used their selected card they put it in to the monster and he eats it up! Yum!

I thought that for younger children you could also use it to build vocabulary by just saying the word, and also good for children learning English as an additional language?

I am also considering making a similar little monster for my son to use as a worry box. I quite like the idea of the monster eating the worries away!

It was so easy to make, just a clothes washing tablet box which I covered. You can even get your little ones to decorate it themselves.

Leave a Reply

